Yeah, Meta’s Rumored ‘Zuck Bucks’ Sound Weird But I Once Thought Facebook Credits Could Be Bigger Than Bitcoin

Four Reasons Why I Was Going To Bet On Facebook Beating Crypto. And Was So Wrong.

Hunter Walk
4 min readApr 7, 2022

So, yeah, ‘Zuck Bucks.’ The nickname is likely just an internal joke, not the actual product moniker (if it is I just threw up in my mouth a little). Sounds mostly like an updated version of Facebook Credits.

If so it’s not crazy, but I think it’s also a decade too late. Our relationship with Meta is very different than it was at Facebook’s peak influence. And the alternatives in fintech are just too substantial. But can you believe I once thought Facebook > Crypto? Here’s what I wrote back in Dec/2013:

Money. I’ve been obsessed with it for years. Not accumulation but the construct. Any currency is a mass hallucination. A store of value which holds its place only so long as there’s collective belief in it. Studying the history of American dollar bills during my study at Vassar. Diving into the “is it art or…

--

--

Hunter Walk

You’ll find me @homebrew , Seed Stage Venture Fund w @satyap . Previously made products at YouTube, Google & SecondLife. Married to @cbarlerin .