The Future of Fashion Commerce Is a Designer’s AI Bot Saying You Look Great and Your Personal AI Bot Sifting Through the Bullshit

Hunter Walk
3 min readJun 24, 2024
AI Generated Image

Maybe I should be more worried about Artificial General Intelligence but these days it’s the probability of Artificial General Bullshit that leaves me wondering about AI-powered everything. Given that the enshittification of the web is largely driven by economic incentives, why do we believe AI will be any different? I mean it’s largely the same people, same companies doing the building anyway.

Back in 2016 when agentic consumer tech was just starting to pique interests I wrote “ What Happens When Bots Learn to Lie? “ Was the post about electronic disinformation? Wrong. About the massive security and hacking threats ahead from machine-generated deceptions? Ha, I wish I was that smart. Nope, rather my intellectual horsepower focused on the implications of hyper sophisticated ‘sales people,’ powered by AI and optimized for transaction. Eight years later, with the GPTs and LLMs advancing faster than a cheetah on prey, I’m even more sure this is coming. It’s our future — at least for a period of time and for some people/industries.

Ok what do I mean? The best commerce platforms will be constantly grooming you, priming you, shaping you to buy. The combination of short-term and long-term value that leads to…

--

--

Hunter Walk

You’ll find me @homebrew , Seed Stage Venture Fund w @satyap . Previously made products at YouTube, Google & SecondLife. Married to @cbarlerin .