I Can’t Stop Marveling at SF’s Driverless Cars

Hunter Walk
Jun 9, 2023

My daughter and I love San Francisco’s driverless cars from Cruise and Waymo. It’s extraordinary to see these autonomous vehicles putter around our streets, sometimes with non-driver passengers in the back seats.

I know they’re not perfect. I know lots of capital was spent and commercialization has been slower than some pundits imagined (although some of the reasons are up for debate). And the left-turn problem is more interesting to me than the trolley problem. But I can’t help but think ‘moonshot in motion’ when I see them and it brings wonder to our faces, which helps reinforce and remember that technology continues to have amazing potential.

GET ALL MY POSTS FREE TO YOUR INBOX BY SIGNING UP HERE

--

--

Hunter Walk

You’ll find me @homebrew , Seed Stage Venture Fund w @satyap . Previously made products at YouTube, Google & SecondLife. Married to @cbarlerin .