Fired Up To Invest In East Fork, A Company With A Mission

Their Pottery Caught Our Eyes, Their Philosophy Grabbed Our Hearts & Their Growth Intrigued Our Brains

Hunter Walk
3 min readMar 7, 2022

Coffee is very important to me. I mean, my Twitter screen name is “👨‍💻☕” so we’re talking identity-level important and by extension, any coffee-accessory must be up to snuff. I’m not a snob, just deliberate. And that intentionality has caused an exploration of drinking vessels. Size, durability, aesthetics and heft. Don’t give me a pinkies-up tea cup. I want a mug.

Several years ago that search brought me to East Fork, which at the time was having trouble keeping their Instagram-famous mug in stock. “Out of stock” is usually enough to cause me to surf onward but there was something especially compelling about this product. A mailing list sign-up was all it took and next time the mug became available, my inbox was populated and my curiosity fed. And it was worth it.

The Mug

If Phase 1 was now completed, Phase 2 brought me deeper into the company’s story, courtesy of a podcast hosted by one of our portfolio companies. I heard Alex Matisse tell East Fork’s history, started clicking around on their Instagram feed and reading Connie Matisse’s blog posts. Oh, and I kept ordering mugs. We now have a dozen+ (they’ve since solved inventory…

--

--

Hunter Walk

You’ll find me @homebrew , Seed Stage Venture Fund w @satyap . Previously made products at YouTube, Google & SecondLife. Married to @cbarlerin .